Servo Control with CX-One

Bobbias

So as a project when I've got nothing else to do at work, I've been trying to get an Omron servo motor up and running. I've got the motion controller, PLC, drive, and motor all hooked up, powered, etc. and a simple program written in CX-Motion-MCH for it. I even got online with the controller, but I'm not sure what I've got to do to actually run my program.

How exactly do I interface with the controller through the PLC?

EDIT: Oh, and I'm not very familiar with Omron PLCs. I'm still learning how the addressing/memory system works (Though I've gomt some basic working code already)

Last edited:
when you select your processor got the I/O table depending on what rack you have this on slect your model of motion controller under motion controllers also assign it a unit number. Make sure that unit number is reflecred on the motion controller. I've never worked on one so probably will not be able to help you further however I remembered seeing that part lol

Last edited:
I've got the IO table set out properly in CX-Programmer. I'm just not sure what sort of instructions I need to send/how to send them to the motion controller to tell it to execute the code I've given it.

I made a really simple program in CX-Motion-MCH and have transferred it to the controller (A CJ1W-MCH71), without an trouble, but this is the first time I've worked with an omron PLC. I've worked a bit with AB stuff, but I am just a co-op student, and I haven't even actually taken my first PLc course yet, lol.

That I can't help you on Like I said I've had no reason to look into that end of it. What I would highly recommend however is that yuo go to the Omron website download the User manual for you Motion controller. In that manual you will find the types of commands used addressing rules programming of he unit itself etc.