Import/Export Tag Values in RSLogix 5000

dabestbank

Is there anyway I can use a spreadsheet to update tag values and Import them into RSLogix 5000? I.E. if i were to create a tag with the predefined Alarm data type then export that tag to excel. Then update the values for say HHLimit, HLimit, ect in excel and then import them back into RSLogix 5000.

Look in the knowledge base for the tag upload/download utility and you can selectively choose the tags to upload. Then go in the text file it creates and set the value you want. Then re-download to the CLX.

I have edited tag data-types and names by export/import from RSLogix but do not remember being able to set default values from that export/import.

Absolutely. I do this a lot with DDE and VB within Excel as Jason suggested. RSLinx has some help information on it. if you end up going the Excel/DDE route, let me know and I can help.

Thanks for you help everybody. I'm new to programming and this is my first complete program I'm writing. Everything before has been modifying existing code. I will bring this back to my boss and see if this is what he wants.

If you are still available, I have to do exactly this task, and would really appreciate help. I have to import 3000 tag values from Excel into an array(0:2999) in RsLogix. I have experience with VB and a little experience with DDE, but not used together with RsLinx/RsLogix.

ok.

I would like to import some widget counts from a 5000 processor.
I remember at one time I could do this in excel 20xx with a plc 5/80e. the option was built in to excel. I had this worksheet residing on a network drive so anyone could access it and it would automatically update the cells from the PLC data tables.

I want to do the same but Im not smart enough to figure that out.