PLC controlling a stepper motor?

roxley

All,
I need to assemble a device for my trade that will count down a number array while controlling the rotation and direction of a stepper motor. Does anyone have a program for this or point me in the right direction?
Any help will be much appreciated !
Randy

Controlling a stepper motor direction and rotation is one thing and counting is another thing. Both can be done.
Sorry, reading your post I have no clue what you are trying to accomplish. By telling more of your application, I guess more help will be offered by many.

Regards
_______

More about PLC & stepper motor application

I am a locksmith and safe technician and want to use the device to open combination locks on safes. ITL makes such a device and it's too much for my budget. I thought if I could use one of my idec PLC's and a stepper motor, I could make my own device. I have the proper licenses and credentials to own and operate such a device, just not the money to buy one. The sensitive nature of the subject is why I did not elaborate on my first post. Programming the PLC for the opening procedure is not a problem: it's getting the PLC to run the stepper that I'm having the difficulty with. Thanks for your replys.
roxley

I thought if I could use one of my idec PLC's and a stepper motor,

it's getting the PLC to run the stepper that I'm having the difficulty with.

Stepper motors are a lot like teenagers. If you tell them to do something it may or may not get done, and you will get no feedback on the progress.o_O They also tend to be platform specific. Now that you have identified your choice of Idec, I'm thinking you should try to contact someone proficient in that platform. I see you have already meet Stationmaster in this thread http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=53377&highlight=idec, see if you can get him to help.