Control Via Multiple Masters on Profibus DP

Could anyone from a Siemens background offer me some advice here.

I have a spec here which is requesting a system where until normal control a DCS system will control Simocode Pro V slaves on Profibus DP. However sometimes it will be desirable to have another PLC controlling the Simocodes.

Is it possible to have 2 DP masters controlling slaves?

I suppose the real question is...Can I control Simocode Pro V slaves from 2 Masters on same DP network?

Last edited:
Hi there,

I am by no means a Profibus expert, but I do know that a Profibus slave cannot be shared by two masters.

//Patrick L

Not an expert in Profibus myself.So is there anyway to control the slave from second master via some other form of data exchange? Messaging etc?

The only way, as I see it would be if the two PLC´s could communicate and I think the Siemens PLC´s can communicate. One PLC communicates with the slave and the second PLC communicates with the first PLC, which forwards data to/from the slave.
How this would be done configurationwise, I have no Idea, but I am sure that Siemens support should be able to answer.

Can I control Simocode Pro V slaves from 2 Masters on same DP network?
No, at least not at the same time. You can configure the slave on both masters, but the one that gets connected first is the "real" master. The second master will give a buss failure until the slave is available again (when the first master goes offline). I've never seen this setup before but it can be done if that is what you want.
You could use a DP-DP coupler to communicate between the two masters and configure the Simocode in the DCS. In the DCS program you can write some code to use the control bits from the PLC if this is requesting the control. This does require the DCS to be operational when you want to control the Simocode through the PLC.

Thats what we have done in the past using inter PLC comms to control the Slaves with one PLC being the Master.