rslogix 5000 read/write to ethernet radio

Stache

Hi All,

I'm not an AB expert by any means, but have been given a project to do with RSLogix 5000. I'm picking most of it up pretty quick, but am having a problem with communication set-up to an ethernet radio gateway.

Products involved are:
PLC-Compactlogix L32E
Radio-Elpro 905U-E

The PLC is connected to an ethernet switch and we have wonderware, another vendor AB PLC and the radio connected to this switch. I have configured the PLC for the data exchange between the vendor PLC and my PLC. (Pretty simple both AB).

Problem comes in when I'm trying to configure the read/write or data exchange to the ethernet radio which is polling two other remote stations.

Any suggestions or examples would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Stache

I guess all the ethernet radios I've used were "transparent" ... they acted like a long cable plugged into both ends. After the radio's are setup and working I just MSG the other PLC's as normal as if they were next to me.

If there are 3 radios.. one will be the AP (access points) and the other 2 remotes.

what model/brand radio? btw

The radios are Elpro. The master radio is an Ethernet gateway and the remote radios have onboard remote i/o. So in essence I need to message the gateway which inturn is polling the remote I/O.

Stache

I don't have direct experience with the Elpro 905U-E, and just read the brochure briefly. I'm posting because I am very familiar with the CompactLogix.

What are the exact models of remote radio ? The Elpro 905U-E itself looks like it has just one input and one output, and I don't see what protocol you can use to acess that data. It seems like the only industrial application level protocol that the 905U-E natively processes are Modbus/TCP and Modbus RTU, and the CompactLogix does not support either of those natively.