PLC-Writing onto the PC CPU after CPU is stopped

fatema

Hi,
I am developing a software to backup and restore the plc programs using TCP/IP communication. The etherneT interface module of the PLC is A1SJ71E71-B2-S3. I could backup the main sequence program but could not restore it. According to the manual SH-NA-3598-C, I should stop the CPU before writing to it. I could stop the CPU but could not write to it as the tcp/ip connection is gone ans so cannot communicate. Can you please help as how to open the PLC communication line ?

Hi fatema,

what PLC type are you talking about ?

Possibly, it is not a shutdown (power off) that is meant by "stopping" the CPU. It is more likely to be to put it in program mode.
This will stop the program in the CPU from running, but keep the CPU alive and hence also its communication ports.

Thanks for the reply, Jasper.

I am using A Series PLC from Mitshubishi. The CPU is A1S. Actually, I am new to PLC programing and am more towards object oriented programming so please help me.

Regards,
Fatema.

When you read from a PLC, it does not need to go into "Program " mode. You just read the internal files/registers.

To write to it you could have to put it into "Program " mode but many permit writing in "Run " mode. Its called "On-line edit ". You must have the "Source code " exactly matching what is already in the PLC to do it.

To write a value into an internal register, you can use some of the available com protocol or build your own but to read the "Compiled " logic program I thinck you have a real big job in front of you.

Good luck young one .

Only the young have this kind of time to spare to accomplish such task :)

Sorry Fatema, but I an expert in neither Mitsubishi, nor in writing/reading to the code area of PLCs. :confused: This is specifik know-how that the PLC manufacturers keep to themselves.