AB PLC sending real time data to Excel

KNeland

I am in the process of putting a few rungs together to track operation time of the motors in our plant. I have been directed to assign the address(s) of the accumulated time to excel spreadsheets that can be opened and viewed real time. My boss has an example of this set up by somebody previously. He opened up a spreadsheet, hit...I think....F9....and the columns updated according to the actual data in those addresses in the logic (PLC 5). I have very little experience with Excel, and he said somthing about OPC client and...I think...RSLINX Pro...I am not sure(either is he). Does anyone have any experience with a similar situation, that could give me advice on setting up the RSLOGIX to EXCELL relationship?

Thanks,

Kyle

If you have RSLinx there are some step by step examples of how to do this shown under Help. You can find the examples under RSLinx lite, but in order to make it work you will need RSLinx Pro.

RSLinx needs to be running. Not all versions of Linx will work. RSLinx Lite will not work. We use RSLinx Classic.

Make sure you have a DDE Topic Configured. The topic is usually the same name as the processor. Select the DDE topic, and make sure the communications path is valid. Then hit Apply or OK and save the Topic path.

In RSLinx under "EDIT", select "copy DDE/OPC" link. Find your Topic in the tree, expand the "online". RSLinx will connect to your plc and show its data table structure. Drill down to your desired target adress. Press copy link. What you have done is load a succicnt path and destination into a "paste" buffer or "paste" clipboard.

Now open Xcel spreadsheet. Right click on an empty cell and select "Paste Special", next pop-up select "paste-link".

You will see the textual string that represents the path\target data table address. Save and close the spread sheet.