PLC 5 Test.

jC.

Hi, I have a whole bunch of PLC 5 gear that needs to be tested before being sent out to clients. I'm very new to PLC's and just need the quickest way to test the inputs and outputs on a whole lot of differernt PLC5 I/O so I can be sure they aren't faulty.
Cheers.

welcome to the forum ...

quick questions:

(1) do you have the RSLogix5 software available for testing purposes?

(2) do you have the communications cables available which are necessary to go "online" (communicate) with the processors?

(3) do you already know anything at all about navigating the software to monitor the input bits - and toggle the output bits?

(4) are there any analog input or output modules involved?

(5) what is your deadline on getting this project done? ... please note that "As Soon As Possible" is NOT a valid answer ...

(6) you should also provide us with a COMPLETE list of the full Catalog Numbers from each piece of your equipment ... (for example: processor 1785-L20E/E) ... note that we're not just making you jump through hoops here ... there are MAJOR differences between different types of hardware - and the procedures for testing them do NOT fit into the "one size fits all" category ...

please answer the questions above and we'll be happy to help you proceed ... we hope to hear from you soon ...

Last edited:
Thanks and to answer your questions..
(1) do you have the RSLogix5 software available for testing purposes? Yes

(2) do you have the communications cables available which are necessary to go "online" (communicate) with the processors? Yes

(3) do you already know anything at all about navigating the software to monitor the input bits - and toggle the output bits? Yes

(4) are there any analog input or output modules involved? Yes

(5) what is your deadline on getting this project done? There isn't really a deadline, I've got as much time as I want really.