Simatic S7-200

lexleo

Good day everyone!

I am new with PLC's. I am having a problem communicating with my pc-to-plc set up. i am using the usb-to-mpi adapter. i can't seem to find the right communication set up. help. thanks!

Hi..
You must set up: Communications->Set PC/PG Interface -> PC Adapter(MPI)
and in field Properties confirm: PG/PC is only master on the bus.Next confirm search all baud rates and run searching.

still the same

Good day!
thanks for the reply. I did just as you suggested and i still end up with the same error. I have attached a screen shot of the message.

ScreenShot039.jpg

S7 200 ppi

Hi Lexleo

Although you are using a usb mpi cable you must still activate the Pg/Pc interface as pc adapter>PPI as the S7200 programming port is PPI.

Please try.

good day guys!

i tried all your suggestions, i got a window saying that it is checking the CP then I got the same error message. I removed the serial cable connecting the adapter to the CP. I checked the continuity of the pins of the male db9 connector. I got continuity on pins 2,3,4,5,7,8 and open on 1,6,9. Is this the normal reading i should get? thanks.

Hi Lexleo

You must use the programming port on the cpu and not the CP module to access/download the program.
Are you using WinXP Pro??
Do you have the Demo version of micro win as it will not comm.??

don,
i have win xp pro service pack 2 running on intel p4 1.8 ghz and not the demo version microwin v4.07.10. i hope this helps :) thanks

I had the same problem when we migrated from PPI-serial cables. We bought a PC-Adaptor (USB) Same as you have and found we couldn't go online. The problem is that the PC Adaptor can only communicate down to 19200 baud whilst S7-200 are supplied default at 9600baud. If we used the old serial PPI cable to change the S7-200's port to 19200baud the PC adaptor worked fine.
We have now bought a USB-PPI multi master cable which works perfectly every time even when we're not sure what baudrate the PLC is set to.