PID Tuning for Flow. Any suggestions please?

Hi there,

This is my first time tuning a PID for flow. I have some experience with level and temperature.

Anyway heres what I've experienced. A pump is running in Manual from SCADA. The operator enters a speed reference of about 93% for the delivery pump. Tjis will achive a flow rate of about 65MLD which is the desired flow.

When I switch to PID control as the setpoint is achieved the output from PID is 0%, and pump backs off and the flow drops drastically.

The PID then increases output and the flow does not increase under the pump is at about 85%, next BANG....the flow is back over 65MLD and pumps stops.

Essentially I have ON/OFF control. I appreciate you cant tell for sure but is the flowmeter causing problems? Its almost as if the flowmeter wont give a reading until the pipe is full.

Any advice would be great

I'm not sure what SCADA system you're using but here's a quick rundown of what I think is happening:

A) It sounds like the output of your controller is not utilising output tracking. This ensures that you don't have a sudden drop-off/spike in the MV when switching manual/auto/manual.

B) It's possible that the flowmeter is giving hassles, but impossible to say. However, if it's occurring at the same point every time, it seems rather that your process needs fine-tuning. I would suggest doubling your proportional band (or halving proportional gain) until the cycling (on/off control) has attained a steady offset. Once that has been acheived increase your integral to 50% of your proportional band setting (or twice the proportional gain) the insert slight disturbances into the loop, monitoring for overshoot/cycling. Derivative should generally be turned off for flow control, but since your description of the loop is so vague, it's impossible to say for sure.