Where in the worl are my inputs in Siemens...

muusic_man

Hi all,
I have a Siemens 315 CPU using step7 software. In my rack I have a 16D/I 16D/O module. The inputs are PIW12 and PIW13. I can't find anywhere in any of the program a reference to any of the inputs in the format of I 12.0 or PIW12. All I see is a lot of M addresses. I assume that my inputs are being moved into a memory address but I have no idea how to determine what memory address. I can monitor PIW 12 and see the particular input I am working with (I 13.4) go on and off in the word.

Can anyone give me a Siemens for dummies tutorial on how to determine what memory address contains my inputs. I am an Allen Bradley guy by trade but was handed this project and for the life of me can't find the info I need. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

In Simatic manager, right click on the blocks folder and select [reference data] --> [display].
Then select [view] --> [ cross references].
Set the filter [view] --> [filter] to show only the inputs.
This will show you where the inputs are used. If it is not in the list they probably used a pointer to move the data. post your code here if you can't find them and I'll have a look at it.

Just for your info PIW12 is a 16 bits word which contains input byte 12 and byte 13. So PIW12 will contain all the 16 inputs. Each input can be addressed [FONT=&quot]separately [/FONT]as I12.0 to I12.7 and I13.0 to I13.7.

The project will be too big to post here, so using simatic manager create a new library, insert an S7 Program into the library then copy all the blocks from your project to the blocks folder in the library. Archive the library and post the resultant zip

One method is as I have done with my latest program, do a cross reference you will not see a single IO address.