Barcode into RSView

TConnolly

Lifetime Supporting Member
Has anyone ever used a barcode scanner to enter data into RSView? I have been asked about setting up some hand held barcode scanners so that the operator can scan a barcode for a work order number/part number and make that available to RSView. RSView will then use that information to select a set of parameters. Right now the operator selects the parameter set himself. The barcode reader will probably be on a USB port but that could change. I'm sure this is possible and probably not difficult but I've never done it before so I'm hoping there are some people here who can point me in the right direction.

Last edited:
Has anyone ever used a barcode scanner to enter data into RSView? I have been asked about setting up some hand held barcode scanners so that the operator can scan a barcode with containing a work order number/part number and make that available to RSView. RSView will then use that information to select a set of parameters. Right now the operator selects the parameter set himself. The barcode reader will probably be on a USB port but that could change. I'm sure this is possible and probably not difficult but I've never done it before so I'm hoping there are some people here who can point me in the right direction.

I haven't had to set up any Bar Code Scanners with anything yet, though I am sure it will come up eventually. If you have access to the RA Knowledgebase, they do have some articles on it for the PanelView Plus, which is similar, and some others. This might give you some clues. If nothing else, it should be possible with VBA.

Not much help I know, but we have to start somewhere. Hopefully someone that has done it will jump in.

Stu.....