RSView Studio Selector Switch

gtr35

Member
Join Date
May 2010
Location
Sinaloa
Posts
23
Hi how can i create a selector switch in RSView Studio - Machine Edition.

I need to selec 3 diferent bits

B3:94/3
B3:94/4
B3:94/5

When i select bit B3:94/3 it should write 1 and the bits B3:94/4
B3:94/5 should be in 0.

When i select bit B3:94/4 it should write 1 and the bits B3:94/3
B3:94/5 should be in 0.

When i select bit B3:94/5 it should write 1 and the bits B3:94/4
B3:94/3 should be in 0.
 
I'd put three buttons on the screen.
Each button writes a "1" to a new tag in the PLC, total of three new tags. Let's call them Button1, Button2, and Button3 for this example. (You pick whatever address you want in the PLC.)

Use PLC logic to do what you want. For example:

When Button1 turns on, latch B3:94/3 and unlatch B3:94/4 and unlatch B3:94/5.
When Button2 turns on, latch B3:94/4 and unlatch B3:94/3 and unlatch B3:94/5.
When Button3 turns on, latch B3:94/5 and unlatch B3:94/4 and unlatch B3:94/3.

A good programming practice would be to include another rung: if more than one of your modes are on, reset all or set a safe state.
 
Do not point the buttons DIRECTLY to the B3:94/x bits. Choose another empty word and use those bits. Then those bits become the inputs on the left side. When one turns on the OTL the desired bits and OTU the other two bits. For example if you use B3:95/0,1 and 2 then the first rung would have:

XIC B3:95/0 OTL B3:94/3 OTU B3:94/4 OTU B3:94/5
 
Thought I'd add one more thing. If you ever need more than three selections the latch/unlatch idea is not the best way. Instead use the button to turn on a bit that moves a number into a register.

For example:
Button1 move 1 to N7:1
Button2 move 2 to N7:2
Button3 move 3 to N7:3
Button4 move 4 to N7:4
Button5 move 5 to N7:5

Now clamp the mode register between min/max:
If N7:1 is less than 1, move a 1 to N7:1
If N7:1 is greater than 5, move a 1 to N7:1 (or move a 5, your choice as long as it is within range 1-5).

Then compare to turn on a coil to indicate the mode:
N7:1 equal to 1 - turn on coil OTE for "Mode1"
N7:1 equal to 2 - turn on coil OTE for "Mode2"
N7:1 equal to 3 - turn on coil OTE for "Mode3"
N7:1 equal to 4 - turn on coil OTE for "Mode4"
N7:1 equal to 5 - turn on coil OTE for "Mode5"

This way is foolproof and easy to code.
 

Similar Topics

Hello to all the knowledgeable people inside the computer screen, my problem at the moment is like the title says, l can't open projects in...
Replies
1
Views
1,316
Hi Working with some project guys who have replaced a controllogix processor previously using RSLogix 5000 V11 for a controllogix 5588E using...
Replies
10
Views
3,977
We have an older laptop here at work that has RSView Studio on it that isn't used for anything. They only use Red Lion HMI's now. I was thinking...
Replies
2
Views
1,501
I have an RSView SE 3.0 distributed application running on a Client/Server. Can I use FTView 7.0 to develop some new screens and or modify...
Replies
1
Views
3,896
Hello I am trying to get certain screen components to be visible unless an h/o/a switch is turned to manual I:0/8 being the input for the...
Replies
1
Views
1,341
Back
Top Bottom