Pump alternation - 10 pump preassure control

Patz

Hi guys,

I'm a automation student here in Norway, and I have just become an apprentice at a fish processing plant.
One of my first tasks is to replace the control system on a central mounted high preassure washing system. There are 10 pumps that are each controlled by a contactor. The pumps supply several washing stations around the plant.

The preassure is read by a 4-20mA preassure sensor.
I need to regulate the preassure. That's not a big problem. The part i find diffucult is that i want all the pumps to alternate so that each pump wear equal.

I have tried several "tactics" but all seem to end up with way to much logic (big program).
My experience at school is limited to Saia-Burgess PLCs (FBD). At this project i use a Omron CJ1 PLC (ladder logic).

Anyone have some hints to how to write this program?

Regards,
Patrick.

No experience with Omron, but in general terms:

Obviously with pumps, you'll want a minimum run time and a minimum off time to prevent short cycling.

You'll also have a run hours timer for each pump that accumulates time only while it's respective pump is running. I normally use a floating point address for this.

When the pressure system calls for a pump to be stopped, your logic will select the pump that has met its minimum run time and has the greatest run hours value.

When the pressure control calls for a pump to be started, your logic will select the pump with the lowest run hours value that has also met its minimum stop time.

I know my description is very basic and might be obvious, but without any knowledge of Omron, I probably can't go much further.

Welcome to the forum, by the way. I know there a many Omron users who frequent this site, so I am certain you'll get some good answers.

To expand on OkiePC's excellent advice...

If you use a FIFO you won't have to keep up with minimum run time.

When pump is running, accumulate hours. I use a DINT for this.