Robotic Arm

Nick and Gigs

Dear all,

Me and a buddy of mine are thinking about trying to make a robotic arm. Does anybody have any useful hints for getting started. I am an electrical engineer with a little software experience, and he is an IST major with fairly extensive experience programming in many languages.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

In theory something you lift a car body with, but it won't lift anything that heavy. we want to first start by making it move, wave, gestures. That will take us a while. Once we get that far, we'll see where we want to go from there.

Big project

Dear all,

Me and a buddy of mine are thinking about trying to make a robotic arm. Does anybody have any useful hints for getting started. I am an electrical engineer with a little software experience, and he is an IST major with fairly extensive experience programming in many languages.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

You need to learn how to rotate vectors in 3D and write target or motion profile generators. I bought some robotics books.

I'd go like this:

Pick a set of parameters required to match (accel, load capacity, axis count)

Compare this to budget / resources.

Develop your kinematics model and apply your loads. Plot some of your common motion profiles and study the loading characteristics.

From this, size your motors/gear ratios.

Develop your inverse kinematics model/algorithm. Depending on your loop control mechanisms I'd go w/ Genetic algorithm Neural net solving for path planning and simple PID Control for your positioning, I find this to be the most robust.

Then go build it!

Norm, I still have your orbiter animations

Sometime I need to learn how to do those animations.

Nick and Gigs, how many degrees of freedom do you plan to have? The degree of difficulty goes up exponentially with the number of degrees of freedom.