PLC Backup

Frelecing

Hello everyone,

Although I have a little experience with ladder programming, I'm new with PLCs.

I need to download the program on an Allen Bradley SLC 5/02 PLC, to my computer as a backup. I've tried with a serial cable and RSLogix 8.10 but when I tried to upload the message "Communication Path has not yet been configured" pops up, followed by the Controller Communications in the Controller Properties window.

There, I have to select a driver, but the only option available is (unknown) and from there I don't know what to do...

So can someone please explain me step by step, how to make a backup of the existing program on an Allen Bradley PLC? What cable and software do I need? In what mode must the plc be?

Thanks!

Your SLC5/02 only supports DH485 protocol. You will need a 1747-PIC ( old device) which requires a real serial port on your PC. Or the newer 1747-UIC (USB to DH485 converter). Do you have one of these? If so let us know then someone can help you setup RSLinx to communicate with your SLC5/02.

What cable did you try to use? The SLC5/02 does not have a serial port.

Mickey thanks for your answer.

I connected the PC to channel 0 (which is a DB25 connector) in the PLC by a cable thats DB25 on one end and USB on the other, that's why I assumed it was serial, if I'm wrong please correct me as those are the kind of things I'd like to learn.

I don't have any other cable, so tell me if I'll be able to do it with the one I have.

Why do you tell me about RSlinx? I thought I only needed RSLogix to download or upload a program, am I wrong in this too??? Sorry if I look like a complete ignorant, well...I am!

Thanks again

EDIT: RSLinx is the communcation software package that Allen-Bradley uses to talk to darn near everything they make. It has several flavors, and the Lite version is free, on almost every Allen Bradley software CD, and can be gotten from the web.