Slightly OT:Photo Evidence with Barcode in Database

504bloke

Lifetime Supporting Member
Ideas and suggestions as its something i have never done before

Box gets packed and delivered to a dispatch area from a robot in a warehouse

Customer wants to take a snap shot of the products in the box before the lid is put on and scan the barcode and then store this data for future reference

I have spoke with cognex who can do this but may be quite expensive - thanks KRK

Anyone else done this or know of a decent solution ?

This is all the info i have from the customer but will know more next week

The questions i have for the customer so far are

• The size of the box (area to be image captured)?
  • The type of bar code?
  • If the image/bar code is to be captured on the fly?
  • If so at what speed?
  • What type of barcode?
  • What detail of the image is required?
  • Colour image?
  • What depth is the box?
  • Is the product in the box at one level or multiple levels?
  • Where and how would the data be stored ? (Server archiving the data?)
  • What frequency the boxes need capturing/recording?
The reason for this is they are finding more and more customers are ringing up saying X,Y,Z was missing from the box so the barcode tied to the photo will help them decide if the robots missed some items or the customer is pulling a fast one.

Last edited:
The questions i have for the customer so far are

• What depth is the box?
  • Is the product in the box at one level or multiple levels?
Those were my first thoguhts, too. How is a photograph going to prove all the contents are there? X-Ray?

Maybe they need to weigh the cases after they're sealed and compare that with expected values? This might be impractical depending on the weight of the "missing" items.