PID or not?

DublinStout

I have a cooling water system tied to a PLC5 that, until recently was controlled manually. I am not experienced with PID and was wondering if I could implement it for my task. I have an open loop cooling water system comprised of cooling towers with fans, a holding tank with temperature probe, heat exchangers and pumps. I am tasked to control the cooling tower fans in "Auto" mode. Currently they are operated manually as needed. I should also mention the fans are capable of hi and low speed.
I have started to write ladder logic and I keep questioning if PID in some form could work here. I have three modes of operation, summer, winter and economizer. The desired temperature during any season, at this point, is 70 degrees farenheit. I will also have access to outside air temperature for sure and am trying to get outside air humidity available as well. My logic needs to understand the relationships of outside air temperature and humidity, the use of the fans in hi or low speed and mode of operation (summer, winter or economizer).
I've read through numerous posts and am impressed with the depth of knowledge in this area on this site. Your feedback is kindly appreciated.

DublinStout

Last edited:
Yes PID could work. But I think the first question is do you really need that precise control? What is your desired water temperature and what is the tolerance on that? If you have been doing fine let us say with a desired temp of 90 plus or minus 5 or maybe 10 you may not need PID (??)

90 +- 1 maybe PID,
90 +- 0.1 more than likely PID,
90 +- 0.01 definitely

Dan Bentler

You didn't say what you are controlling but when we design a controller to control room conditions inside a manufacturing facility with equipment that uses a chiller in conjunction with outside air: Think about Enthalpy.

We use enthalpy calculations to decide whether outside air will work or we need the chiller with outside air or just the chiller.

Last edited: