Boolean Add Binary Code RSLogix

old_cadger

Hello everyone,

First time posting here.

I'm working on a CompactLogix (RSLogix 5000) program for a machine that inspects bottles. There is an array of 6 cameras on a conveying system that perform inspections for multiple failures. The cameras will be sending the inspection results to the PLC via Ethernet as a binary string. Each camera will send a string that will look like this :

Since there will be 6 cameras I would like to do a boolean add on the PLC side to compress the overall inspection results. So it would look something like this:

+ 1001000100
---------------

Does anyone know of a function in RSLogix 5000 that would do a boolean add like this? And/or a particular Data Type & Style that would be best for this type of information.

Also, I'm using FIFO to track the inspection results and kickout failing bottles. This is my first time using FFL and FFU instructions. Does anyone have any words of wisdom about these instructions, pitfalls, best practices ect?

Thanks and I look forward to your replies.

-JP

If that is representative of the operation you're wanting to do, you're not adding them, your ORing them.

You could simply OR the first words together, putting the results into a temporary word, then OR that result with the next word putting the results into a temporary word, ... until you get to all of them having been OR'd together.

Use the Bitwise OR (OR) instruction. You will have to use many of them (number of items minus 1). I rarely use a compute instruction. Maybe someone can jump in on the use of that. If the item are in an array possible a use of the FLL instruction would suffice.