cable size

clarke2006

I have to install a 50HP motor, Three Phase, 480 Volt, 57.7
Full load Amps, 90 Degree Temperature. The length of cable I would Need is Two Hundred Feet. What size of copper conductor would I need? I am a second year apprentice and I still have trouble with these calculations. Thanks in advance.

If this is a school exercise show us what you have done so far.
If this is on the job, look up the cable manufacturers tables to get the size.

If I was doing it I would use 35mm 3 core neutral screened cable, because it is the most economical cable size that will meet my requirements, but this info is not going to meet your requirements, as we use metric cable sizing.

mm2

02-11-2010 CAD By S.ALANEN

POSITION 50HP

(CABLE Q1-M1) MCMK 3x25+16

CABLE: 1 VALUES

- Type MCMK 3x25+16
- Lenght 61.00 m
- Max fuse (short circ.protection) 160.00 A
- Loading capacity (+25°C) in air 110.00 A
- Loading capacity (+32°C) in air 101.08 A
- Max core temperature 70.00 °C
- Core temp., nominal current 44.38 °C
- Max Current between phases 5360.31 A
- Max Earth fault current in motor 7580.62 A

MOTOR, NOMINAL VALUES

- Voltage 480.00 V
- Power out 37.00 kW
- Rotation Speed 1750.00 RPM
- Current 57.70 A
- Fuse for 5 s start 160.00 A
- Cos Fii .83
- T O R Q U E 201.91 Nm

VALUES IN NOMINAL CURRENT WITH CABLE

- Power loss in Cable .44 kW
- Power loss in Motor 2.77 kW
- Voltage loss .83 %
- Voltage in Motor 476.01 V
- T O R Q U E 200.62 Nm

START VALUES WITHOUT CABLE

- Cos Fii .45
- Is/In 6.70
- Current 386.59 A
- Ms/Mn 2.60
- T O R Q U E 524.98 Nm

START VALUES WITH CABLE

- Voltage in Motor 463.21 V
- Voltage loss 3.50 %
- Current 373.07 A
- T O R Q U E 506.62 Nm

VALUES WITHOUT LOAD

- Power loss in Cable .14 kW
- Current 32.36 A

1 x MCMK 3x25+16 MAX LOAD f(TEMPERATURE), Tmax=70°C
- MAX LOAD (+25°C) in air 110.00 A
- MAX LOAD (+30°C) in air 103.71 A
- MAX LOAD (+35°C) in air 97.01 A
- MAX LOAD (+40°C) in air 89.81 A
- MAX LOAD (+45°C) in air 81.99 A