Need advice on setup of PanelView+ to CLX via CNet

wildswing

Hey fellas,

I've started work on an in-house project that includes setting up a PV+ 1000 as a node on a Cnet network to talk to a CLX (L62) processor and need some advice on the proper or preferred way to set up tags in both.

Sorry for the length of this post. I'm a newbie at this, so please bear with me. Sorry if some questions are way off base. This is my first ever PV+ to CLX via ControlNet. My only other experience is PV to PLC5 via DH+ or RIO. Example: I just found out I need RSView ME, so I'm waiting for that PO to go through.

First, some background. My company bought a used strapping machine from a defunct facility [it's almost identical to an existing strapper we have that's being run by a SLC 5/04]. The PV+ was purchased separately by someone else from another source. They chose it because it had Cnet capability. It's after this that I enter the picture, "Hey, look what we bought. Can you make this work?"

The PV+ will be used for simple auto/manual, cycle start, other operator input selections, feedback of machine cycle status and alarm annunciation. Almost all will be discrete with maybe a few analog values. Nothing super time critical.

The strapper came with a Siemens PLC. I found that out after it arrived. We're all AB here. The higher ups recommended that we should send the PLC program conversion work to a local community college [electrical technology class] that had been bugging us for a real world project (via a government program). The electrical lead for the installation (has CLX programming experience) set them up with CLX files and tag arrays to use. Now we have an updated CLX program that contains boolean, integer, timer and counter arrays assigned to that machine center (all controller tags). The ladder logic uses those array tags.