Hello! glad to meet cha!

carwashblues

Hello guys (and gals?) Im new here and hope this is the correct place to post this introductory message.

I am an unemployed electronics tech, with many many years of experience, trained in the military as an avionics tech (component level) and worked 5 years at General Dynamics repairing the HP 3060A (now the 3070) automated test station. (Basically bays of rack mounted smart test equipment tied to a relay matrix I/O interface controlled by a central computer running a BASIC variant test language)

I have repaired everything from A-Z (except PLCs) including a 2 year stint working on OBD2 computerized vehicles. (heck these are getting to be as complex as factories)then I got laid off.

Lots of plants here in LA, but man, they dont seem to be all that impressed that Ive worked on so many electronic devices:rolleyes:, they start and end every sentence with PLC. On my first interview I guessed PLC meant "process logic controller"! PLCs are the holy grail of electronics work down here. I must have heard PLC a hundred times. I wouldnt have been suprised if somewhere in the plant a golden bay full of PLCs was used for religious services!

Now Im trying to cram all things PLC and try to score a job in a plant, they pay well and have bennies. I am prepared to accept the almighty PLC as my personal savior and forsake all other equipment. I came across this site and I hope to to learn the ropes of both PLCs and the kind of work a typical guy at a plant dealing with them does.

My contributions here would be a bit off topic, I could write a book on diagnostic techniques and neat tricks Ive developed over the years that work on any electronic gear. Like any tech, I love to ramble on and on with all my great tricks (and leave out the smoked boards part!(y)) Mostly though I need to pick the very fine brains on this board(y)

Hopefully I can eventually snag a job in a plant somewhere and start contributing proper PLC guru stuff.