DrviceNet

Adam303

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi guys. I have a 1756-DNB DeviceNet bridge and I'm trying to learn how to use the protocol. As you can read I'm totally new to DeviceNet and I'm eager to learn.
This is what I have so far
1756-DNB module
InterlinkBT conduit cover adapter BCA-57-M123
TURCK Status sensor
couple feet of belden 3082A devicenet wire
RsNetWorx for deviceNet

Can any one please help me set this protocol up so that I can reed the status of the sensor.
If there is more information needed please let me know.

Thank you for all the help.

The 1756-DNB as it's powered up shows No Network Power. I see that the device net port pin out shows V+ and V- should an auxiliary power be applied to those terminals or does the module it self provide power?

You have to put 24VDC to the network wires. They are not self powered.
Do a search on the AB website for the devicenet manuals or better still download the "Devicenet Book Of Knowledge" from the AB site.
Study this first and you will find it s lot easier.
Regards Alan

The first things I'd recommend for a DeviceNet novice are the DeviceNet media selection guide, the DeviceNet Book of Knowledge from RA, and the tutorial PowerPoint Slideshow that gets installed with RSNetworx for DeviceNet. Because you are using ControlLogix, the big DeviceNet Modules with Logix 5000 Control Systems manual will be useful too.

I've called the Media Selection Guide "the Moby Dick of technical manuals" because everybody knows it is important literature but virtually no one reads the whole thing. The Publication number is DNET-UM072.

http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/um/dnet-um072_-en-p.pdf

The DNet Modules manual is a good summary of how DeviceNet modules work with Logix 5000 control systems. It doesn't address the less-popular MicroLogix 1500, SLC-500, and PLC-5 interfaces. The Publication number is DNET-UM004.