S7-1200, change Timers in HMI

rQx

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hello
Just started to work with the KTP400 HMI and s71200, and basicly I'm a beginner to the whole PLC world.
All I want to do is be able to change the time of my timers in my HMI.

I want a field where I can write the new time and a button to send the new time to my timer. How do I do?

Regards

Create the timer in the PLC program. Instead of entering a constant for the timer value enter a M word (with correct data type). Then open your HMI screen in a split window with your program and drag the timer tag onto the screen.

Thank you! I thought it was something like that!

The problem I have is that I know plc programming but on this job I have to do some more advances calculations and use the memory more. Is there any good guides for that? For example, how do I know what data type I should have?

Regards

Memyself would use FLOATING POINT values (REAL datatype) that way I dont have to worry about doing the multiplications first and the divides last and such to get the best accuracy when doing calculations with integers...

But true this varies from case to case.. What calculations is needed to do in your project?

It's mostly add or sub.

I want the time of the timers to be editable.
I want to edit them by pressing buttons. So if i activate input 0.0 I should add for example 1second to the timer.

Regards

Ok if its timers then you should use DINTs why?

The timers use the TIME format wich really is a DINT where a value of 1 means 1ms..

So if you add 1000 to the TIME variable you have added 1s..

So what should I write on my preset value? If i write 1000 there I get T#1000ms.

I guess I can't modify that value ? Because It's the same text on all of my timers.

So I should write a memory value instead? I wonder, what should I write here?