Feedlot

Tom@Pton

The first PLC project,18 yrs ago??, I did was for a cattle feedlot that required a total electrical update for service entrance and control. I am an electrical contractor. I had to move my desktop from shop to feed processing room to program the equipment. Laptop came after. Basic manual operation with the primary objective of interlocking equipment for proper shutdown if something quit, approached overload, went under speed or a tank filled. A few years later we added an HMI where we calculated and dispensed an additive in grams per head. As long as they entered the head count for each lot, the PLC would calculate, dispense, print the results for each load and give a day end total. The system has worked well.

I am now interested in making this more automated in that the office will have more control of each batch mixed. I foresee a driver entering the Pen# of "54" and the PLC taking over with the correct ration for that pen. The actual amount of each ingredient for each pen then needs to be recorded because each pen of cattle may be under different ownership.

Obviously a bit more than start and stop. Can this be done via a spreadsheet(s)? Point me in the right direction. I can read and don't expect to die for a few years so I might as well try to learn something.

Existing Equipment:
AB 1500 and a small PanelView with numeric keypad. Wireless network is available and I am not against replacing the PanelView with something better. I have Cmore software & experience.

Thank you.

The two I mentioned are Rockwell SCADA systems that the Feedlot could operate from the office and you can do reporting and enter in your information and send it to the ML.

Tom do you rotate you cattle with age or do they stay in the same lot? If you rotate them how do you plan on changing the food mixture ratio for age? Will you have multiple formulas or will you keep them all the same?