Factory Talk Communications Problems

twitte

Hi, I am new to Allen Bradley and would like to see if anyone can help me with the following issue.

I am having trouble communicating with my PLC (micro-1100 rev B) through factory talk studio software. The first time I set up the communications (using a serial DF1) it works ok, but when I try to connect again after closing the application, I can't get online with the PLC and says "failed to get names from OPC server" Has anyone else had an isue with this? I am using the RS link enterprise.

Thank You

Welcome to the Forum !

The usual set of questions are going to apply here when you're asking a software-related question:

What version of FactoryTalk View Studio are you using ?
What version of RSLinx Enterprise is installed ?
What firmware version of MicroLogix 1100 are you using ?
Are you using a built-in serial port or a USB/RS232 converter ?
What operating system edition and service pack are you running ?

It's not that there are specific version conflicts that will cause this error, it's that basic information like that is necessary to be sure we're all on the same page with the tools and techniques we're going to use to troubleshoot.

I found two good hits in the RA Knowledgebase using they key phrase "Failed to get names from OPC Server";

Answer ID # 55818 RSLinx Enterprise was not configured with a valid shortcut

Answer ID # 49199 Windows files used by navigation window have been unregistered.

Describe precisely what you mean by "it works OK" and what you mean by "can't get online with the PLC" in each condition. My guess is that you mean you can browse the MicroLogix data tables with the tag browser while assigning a direct reference connection, but I can't be certain.

When you say "after I close the application" do you mean you close the FactoryTalk View project, or that you close FactoryTalk View Studio ?