STL - Better than Ladder or Just job security?

I am new in a company which uses only Siemens. All the PLC programs I have uploaded are in statement list and cannot be reverted to ladder (no NOP 0s). Is statement list able to do something ladder cannot, or did someone wipe out all the NOP 0 lines for job security? How often do you guys encounter programmers who prefer STL over Ladder? should I stop programming in ladder and start learning STL?

Any guidance is greatly appreciated.

Mike.

I am new in a company which uses only Siemens. All the PLC programs I have uploaded are in statement list and cannot be reverted to ladder (no NOP 0s). Is statement list able to do something ladder cannot, or did someone wipe out all the NOP 0 lines for job security? How often do you guys encounter programmers who prefer STL over Ladder? should I stop programming in ladder and start learning STL?

Any guidance is greatly appreciated.

Mike.

You said "uploaded"
Under the blocks folder, does the created in language say STL?

Are your machines from Europe?

If your answers are yes- then learn STL :)

As far as I know its what they are taught
and indirect addressing is only done in STL

Whats the created in language say??

It's all created in STL and SCL. I know Omron and AB have similar options (mneumonics) but every machine i ever worked on used ladder. is Siemens the only manufacturer that encourages writing programs in machine type language?

It's all created in STL and SCL. I know Omron and AB have similar options (mneumonics) but every machine i ever worked on used ladder. is Siemens the only manufacturer that encourages writing programs in machine type language?
----------------------------------
Well SCL (Structured Control language) is the same as ST or Structured Text
STL (Statement List) is the same as IL or Instruction List
Many manufacturers have this.

I use "same as" kinda loosely