Simulation using SCADA

ssembo

Hello everyone, i am new to this kind of thing but after some hours of reading, i found this really interesting and would to do something with a PLC.

I would like to simulate a power substation using SCADA software and a real PLC. My concern is if its possible providing a PLC with virtual inputs using a SCADA. I do not want to produce any real/physical inputs.

I have learnt that the PLC require understanding of gates which am good at but my worry is how i can incooperate in timers and comparisons and also use of analog signals. Any good literature sources are appreciated.

Thanks

Cole

Hello Cole.

Are you thinking of a PLC or SCADA brand in particular ?
Many programming softwares have a simulated software PLC that can be used for exactly this purpose.
It is also possible to use a real PLC that is not connected to any real i/o.
All PLCs that I know of can manipulate the inputs programmatically, so that you could let inputs change to reflect what the outputs does. I use this extensively to test my programs before they are used in the real installation.

First of all thanks Jesper for that information. It's really going to help me. Just to have more ideas with me, could you please enlighten me on the best softwares that have a PLC incoperated and is also able to creat a power system? Was thinking of SCADA.

As for the PLC and SCADA in particular, i haven't thought of one and to be frank, i wasn't sure if a number of them existed. Enlighten me on that please.

Thanks

Cole

You ask for a lot of info.
As to "best", then that is very subjective.

I use Siemens S7 and there is a simulator called PLCSIM that works with Siemens WinCC and WinCC Flexible SCADA software. With these I can test my programs before they must run for real.
The simulation of the hardware maye be simple, like output goes on --> input goes on. Or it may be more complicated with a complicated process with many parameters. Such a simulation cannot be 100% perfect.