FactoryTalk Recipe Retention

DamianInRochester

Lifetime Supporting Member
This is my first attempt at fiddling with Rockwells Recipe function. Everything works (although nothing like I would prefer it to) except everytime I load a new .mer file it erases all my saved recipes.

I selected "Recipe files are part of the HMI project".

Is there a way to get the PanelView to retain my saved recipes?

I am using FT ME 5.10.00 on a PanelView Plus 1000 Compact.
Everything is new.

If the new .mer file does not have the recipes in it, it will overwrite the old .mer file on the PV+ that does have the recipes. To save the new recipes created on the PV+, upload the .mer file from the PV+, restore it using the application manager, make your changes, create a new .mer then download it to the PV+.

Note: You can only restore a runtime program if you are using Factory Talk version 5 or later.

Is it possible to store the recipes as a separate file (such as log files)? Based on what you are telling me, I would probably be much better served creating my own recipe scheme and storing the values on the PLC.

Thanks for the quick reply!

In the Recipe Plus setup window, you can choose to make the recipe files NOT part of the HMI program. You will then have to specify where you want the recipes stored eg. on the external Compact Flash card if you have one. (If not, I would recommend you get one, no larger than 512 MB), or possibly on a USB flash drive (I have never done it this way).

Thank you. For some reason I overlooked that. Do I need an kind of funky formatting on the flash?

I still think I will ultimately end storing in the PLC. This recipe feature seems to be over complicated. I'm only storing 2 values per recipe file.

No funky formatting required. If you install the flash into the PV+ then use your transfer utility to download the .mer into the flash card (external Storage 1) it will set up the folders on the flash card as required.