Micrologix Series ?

mrowen

Hope this isn't too trivial of a question. I am relatively new to actually programming plcs and have a need to play around a bit. Looking at picking up a micrologix unit off ebay. I notice that there are different "series" units such as "c" or "e". Can anyone explain or point me to a website that describes the differences. Or is it just a older versus newer stuff.

Also, are there any places to buy (online would be nice) the micrologix plcs for something less than the list price posted on AB's site?

Many thanks,
Mike

A-B sells a 10-point MicroLogix 1000 controller for $99 and the software that programs it (and only the 10-point controller) is free. So that's your low-dollar way to get into A-B controllers.

To answer the original question, the Series Letter on an A-B product changes when the function of the device or it's actual hardware design changes. In the MicroLogix 1000 product line, the only important change was in Series C, when the DF1 Half-Duplex protocol was added to the controller. Most folks don't use that feature except for remote telemetry applications.

One more thing; nobody pays list for A-B controllers. It's an anachronism from the Nixon days that A-B list prices are higher than the prices you'd pay even over-the-counter at a dealer. That's one o the reasons those snarky Automation Direct ads can show such startling disparities in list prices; the A-B list price is at least 20% higher than what you'll really pay, even as a retail customer.

Unless A-B is dominant in your particular market, buying a used MicroLogix 1000 and RSLogix 500 Starter ($500) is slightly steep to learn about PLC's in general. I'm sure some other members will post their best "starter" controller and software setup.