"String" Ethernet message.

kbpatton

Hello all.

I have a lot of experience with messaging and producing/consuming etc., but I have never messaged a "String" before. Is there anything special I need to know? For example, you usually have to specify a certain number of elements to message, but I'm not sure how this applies to a string. I basically just need to message one string from a ControlLogix to a Cimplicity server. Any guidance much appreciated.

Just message the STRING tag, to a STRING tag in the receiving PLC.

A STRING data-type is just a pre-defined data-type like a TIMER or any other of the "compund" types, including User-Defined types (UDTs).

Incidentally, the STRING data-type holds 82 characters. If this is overkill for your application (say you only need 30 characters), then you can define new String data-types as you wish, e.g. STRING30.

Right-Click the String Data-Types folder in the Controller Organiser, and select "New String Data-Type". In the dialogue that comes up, specify your string type name (e.g. for a 30-character string type STRING30), and specify the number of characters to allow in that data-type, e.g.30.

Presumably Cimplicity can be set-up with String tags of different lengths, or if it is a fixed length, you may have to create a dta-type to match it as above.

Hello all.

I have a lot of experience with messaging and producing/consuming etc., but I have never messaged a "String" before. Is there anything special I need to know? For example, you usually have to specify a certain number of elements to message, but I'm not sure how this applies to a string. I basically just need to message one string from a ControlLogix to a Cimplicity server. Any guidance much appreciated.

Is it possible that you need to use Socket Messaging? If so, you'll need the EWEB module.

There isn't anything "special" about a STRING data type with reference to the MSG command. It's just another data type.