On Delay vs. Off Delay, timing

kowen

I am new to ladder logic and am using a Koyo plc with Click software. There doesn't seem to be a step-by-step execution simulator for this software to practice with, so trying to learn by running the actual plc. I often need to use a timer for device settings that come on and off, and even to change rpm's etc. But I seem to run into issues with the timers, and with changing coil statuses within a scan cycle. Any tips for use of on-delays vs. off-delays for timer control? Any tips for keeping coil statuses clean and independent of cycle times?

I'll try to respond because no one else did.

I am new to ladder logic and am using a Koyo plc with Click software. There doesn't seem to be a step-by-step execution simulator for this software to practice with, so trying to learn by running the actual plc.

Many of us prefer to experiment with code on an actual PLC.

Any tips for keeping coil statuses clean and independent of cycle times?

I recommend visiting Ron Beaufort's site for PLC training. And viewing the videos (P.S. view them in order). They are for another brand of PLC but the concepts are the same.
http://www.ronbeaufort.com/

Here is another post by Ron concerning Automation Direct PLC's and their unique use of retentive ranges.
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?p=71786&postcount=1

And finally a little code to demonstrate how changing the position of a rung can change the outcome.

Vaughn - thanks for your very helpful reply. I will go through Ron's videos right away. And, thanks for the example code ... I assume Rung 3 sets C2, but Rung 1 does not, since crossed over into a new scan cycle. Yes ... this is the kind of thing I am trying to get a better feel for. In addition, the concept of resolving net states at the end of a cycle, vs logic states for each rung, one at a time.
Thanks to all the "teachers" that help us learn.
Ken