Display other than decimal in RSViewME (Panelview Plus)

93lt1

Member
Join Date
Apr 2002
Location
Mount Pleasant, Iowa
Posts
994
I was unable to find a way to display a code in Hex in a Panelview Plus 700 application. Does anyone know of a way to do this?

I remember attempting to display a 16 bit number in binary form on a standard Panelview a couple years ago and was also unable to do it.
 
Pushed to the second page in less than one day.

The board fills up pretty fast nowadays.

I'm sure someone has needed to do this at one time or another...

I'll even settle for a solution with a standard Panelview.
 
I seem to remember having to do this (I don't think it was in PanelView, but may have been)...
I will look through some older project files tomorrow when I am in my office..
 
Sorry,
On looking through my old projects this morning I found that what I had to do prviously was convert to 16 bit binary, and that was in MS Access, required quite a bit of VB code to do it too.

follow-up question...as "unfriendly" user-wise as Hex is, why do you need to display an Integer in Hex?
 
I don't know about PW plus, but I looked at old PB application and we used text display with embedded variable:
/*A:4 sta3_msg_code*/ DRIVE MESSAGE
Tag data type is Character Array size 4
CLX plc
This displays 4 digit hex number on the screeen.
May be this will help
 
But how?

obviously binary=octal=decimal=hexidecimal

It looks like I can get integer to ascii, but I want the result to be in hex. It seems to me like it would convert the integer in decimal format...
 
Ty this:
Move first 4 bits to a register, if number between 0-9, add 30hex, if A-F add 37hex (0Ah+37h=41H ="A")
Save,
Move next 4 bits....

What PLC? I can write it later today
 
Last edited:
Allen Bradley SLC 5/05

Problem is, I want to be able to display the "major fault" code. I can't do logic when the Processor is faulted.

But I would still like to see your solution.
 
Tested with SCL500 L40
Working for all numbers 7fff or less
to get full range replace last DIV with shift ;)

N7:0 source
N7:20-N7:23 result


MVM N7:0 000FH N7:10
GEQ N7:10 0 LEQ N7:10 9 BST ADD N7:10 48 N7:20 NXB OTE B3:0/0 BND
XIO B3:0/0 ADD N7:10 55 N7:20

BST MVM N7:0 00F0H N7:11 NXB DIV N7:11 16 N7:12 BND
GEQ N7:12 0 LEQ N7:12 9 BST ADD N7:12 48 N7:21 NXB OTE B3:0/1 BND
XIO B3:0/1 ADD N7:12 55 N7:21

BST MVM N7:0 0F00H N7:13 NXB DIV N7:13 256 N7:14 BND
GEQ N7:14 0 LEQ N7:14 9 BST ADD N7:14 48 N7:22 NXB OTE B3:0/2 BND
XIO B3:0/2 ADD N7:14 55 N7:22

BST MVM N7:0 0F000H N7:15 NXB DIV N7:15 4096 N7:16 BND
GEQ N7:16 0 LEQ N7:16 9 BST ADD N7:16 48 N7:23 NXB OTE B3:0/3 BND
XIO B3:0/3 ADD N7:16 55 N7:23



pm me if you want RSL500 file
 
You had to post that on a Friday night, didn't you ? Now it's past six, the Christmas party is in full swing, and all the staff's toddlers are using the cubicle farm for a hide-and-seek maze.

You're going to need four multi-state indicators, with sixteen states each.

Each multistate indicator has sixteen states, numbered 0 to 15, with the values 0 through 15 associated with the text captions "0" through "F".

Only put one character per caption, and size the four Multistate Indicators so they're just the size to display one character. Group them together so they don't get mis-aligned.

Assign an HMI tag to S:6. Mine is called "Status_Six". Make it an Analog Type, Unsigned Integer, Max 65535.

Now for the trick: You don't assign just a tag to the multistate indicator, you assign an Expression.

From left to right, the four expressions are:

({Status_Six} & 61440) >> 12
({Status_Six} & 3840) >> 8
({Status_Six} & 240) >> 4
({Status_Six} & 15)


This does in an HMI expression exactly what Control_Conn did in ladder logic, but because it's done in RSView ME, it works even if the SLC is faulted. The attached GIF is my object when I removed the module in Slot 5 of my SLC-5/04.

[attachment]

slc_status.gif
 
Last edited:
Actually Ken, I posted it yesterday at about Noon.

Thank You....I didn't think about using the "expressions" yet. It's been a rough enough ride just getting the "RSLinx Enterprise" to work.

That was the solution I was looking for. Of course, I would much rather have a "data display" dropdown menu where I could select B/D/O/H, but this will work.

And thank you, Contr_Conn, I just might use that code snippit in the future.
 
Last edited:

Similar Topics

I have an integer that the PLC-5 processor is feeding the panelview 1250. Is there any way to have RSview ME convert this integer to hex? It is...
Replies
7
Views
4,676
I am using a PanelView C1000 as the display and a MicroLogix 1400 as the controller. How do I use a floating point address (i.e F8:0) from the...
Replies
3
Views
1,429
is it possible to change the display of real numbers in codesys 3.5 while online from exponential to decimal values?
Replies
0
Views
1,993
Ladies & Gent's, I am reading a floating point number from a Seimens RWF40 controller(PV) modbus address 30000 IEEE_754 format. I want to...
Replies
11
Views
2,725
I'm using Panel Builder32 V3.61.00 (free from AB) and a PV550 cat 2711-K5A2 ser. B rev. D frn 1.07. My data is a 4 digit integer from thermocouple...
Replies
13
Views
4,070
Back
Top Bottom