RSLogix 500 and modbus communication

Rob735

HELP!!!

I am very lost and would very much appriciate some reassurance or a nudge in the right direction.

I have a ML1400 that I am trying to set up to communicate with my control panel. i have the 1762-NC01 adaptor to connect with and am happy with all the hardware I have.

My problem is I have never done Modbus communication setup before and am very lost with how to read the device list from my control panel.

I have spent all morning reading manuals and web-sites and RSLogix instruction help. I am thinking the ASCII controls are what I need to be using but really don't know if this is right?

Does anyone know where I can find a "Modbus for Dummies" explaination. I don't just want anwsers i want to understand what I am doing, I just want valid info that will not confuse me more then I am already.

Thank you in advance
Rob

HELP!!!

I am very lost and would very much appriciate some reassurance or a nudge in the right direction.

I have a ML1400 that I am trying to set up to communicate with my control panel. i have the 1762-NC01 adaptor to connect with and am happy with all the hardware I have.

My problem is I have never done Modbus communication setup before and am very lost with how to read the device list from my control panel.

I have spent all morning reading manuals and web-sites and RSLogix instruction help. I am thinking the ASCII controls are what I need to be using but really don't know if this is right?

Does anyone know where I can find a "Modbus for Dummies" explaination. I don't just want anwsers i want to understand what I am doing, I just want valid info that will not confuse me more then I am already.

Thank you in advance
Rob

Hi Rob,
If I may ask, what is the ultimate goal? What device/devices do you hope to communicate with. What will the communication be geared towards(ie. control, data collection, parameter transfer, etc.)?