communication mediums

steven.bishop

Hello, i seem to have touched a nerve with some members with my first post. Yes, i am studying a part-time HND course but i was under the impression that this web site was an important source of information for students and engineers alike. I am in college one day a week, there is a very limited source of information concerning PLC's within the library (which is rarely open). I have tried other websites but most seem to want to sell me a course or product. Is there anywhere else i could get more information.
I am currently trying to explain the difference's between the varios communication mediums such as twisted pair, coaxial and fibre optic with regard to speed, bandwidth and maximum distance between terminals.
Any help or just a push in the right direction would be appreciated.

This is very simple AND available on the Web.

You go to any manufacturer.
You check which communication device they include in there systems.
You check-out these devices and protocols.

As to give you a short list of them, in order, with details.

Do the work yourself.

There are three categories of transmission media currently in use in industrial networks. They are twisted pair (TP) wires, coaxial cable and fiber-optic cable. The most commonly used media is twisted-pair. This is due to its ease of installation, low cost and low maintenance. Twisted-pair may be purchased with a shield or without.