newbie factory guy - intro and questions

Jason_H

Hello! I am new to PLC's but have a need and desire to learn. I work in a factory that makes textile related products, the variety of products and styles of production requires flexible sewing workstations.

I have a mentor here that has several decades worth of experience in sewing factories but he does not know computers and current types of sensors so I am on my own for this.

I bought an AD click unit and set up some test boards to try and learn, other than whats on this site, what are some recommendations for learning PLC's. Also I have my first application that I would like to use a PLC for.

I got the idea after watching this video. Please look at 1:38 for about 30 seconds after
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jV07wLxQKMc

The two spinning disks are being used to sense thread being consumed by the sewing machine. I believe it is a prox sensor watching a marker in the plastic. How would you program something like this? Is this a counter or timer function? There are three differnet states that could be seen.

1. The disk could be stopped if the thread is broken
2. The disk could be spinning at a slower then normal speed when the thread breaks but is still caught on the material
3. The disk could be spinning at normal speed.

I appreciate any help and direction. Please make sure you talk to me like I am a 2 year old. I wont be offended.

Thanks in advance,

Jason

Jason - Welcome to the site. You have come to the right place. You should be able to get a really good start here especially if you use the resources listed at the top of the page and continue to show your efforts. We get a lot of "do my homework for me" questions so demonstrating effort is a must before a lot of folks are willing to offer up too much.

On to your problem.

I can't view videos from youtube here at work, but your description seems adequate if I understand it correctly. Furthermore it sounds like a perfect application for a small PLC.