SETI Poll

Do you run SETI@Home now?

• YES, we run SETI.

Votes: 9 22.0%
  • No, not yet.

Votes: 17 41.5%
  • No, but we will now.

Votes: 7 17.1%
  • Yes, and I plan to meet with the little green folks on New Years .

Votes: 8 19.5%

• Total voters

David_Emmerich

Lifetime Supporting Member
Just an idea...I have been crunching SETI data for 3 years now, and I was wondering if anyone else is doing the same...if not, I would like to see if we could enlist some of our members to join the project. More info is located at SETI@HOME .

I did this too for a while a year or so ago. Perhaps I'll have a go at it again now that I have A.) A heck of a lot faster computer, and B.) an 'Always on' DSL connection.

Thanks for the reminder, David... :D

beerchug

-Eric

Hi Rick....15,000 hours is impressive!!!! :cool: When I first started, it was taking 50-57 hours for each work unit...8086 Zenith @ about 10 MHz or so, now I'm running on a Sony laptop @ 2.41 GHtz and they take about 4.5 hours!!! (y) I took a look at the leading "crunchers" last night, they are a group of British Overclockers...they sound like a 'fun' group!!! VERY competitive!!!
David beerchug

Thanks for the jump over here Phil, I was not sure if was near enough to being ' close to topic' to post over on this side...lets see how it does today!! :cool:

David

SETI is Search for Extra-Terrestrial Intelligence. The signals from amny radio telescopes must be processed in a search for patterns. This is incredibly computation intensive. Thus SETI@HOME was established which requests users with 'always on' Internet connections to load software which, in the background while other processes aren't taking place, works on small segments of these analysis problems. The computers are automatically azssigned their small sections and report back their results. The hope is that a massive effort of multiple computers will lead to a time and cost effective was of doing this analysis.

Last edited: