Help with Siemens SIMOREG Drive?

Xion

I'm having some problems with a siemens drive in a payoff we have on site. This was baught 2nd hand from a 3rd party who we can't get in contact with.

The drive is a SIMOREG 6RA24 connected to a 240V 37Amp motor.

What happens is that the drive trips out with error F038.

Looking in the manual it says

This fault is activated if the speed actual value exceeds the level set with paramater P354.

causes:
Current regulated drive
P354 set too low
Intermittent tachometer cable connection

Well, the drive must be in speed control as it's a dancer controlled payoff and it's also under armature voltage feedback mode. P354 is set at 120% which is it's maximum.

This problem has left me stumpted as i have never worked with a Siemens drive before. Can anyone give me a gem of knowledge?

Guessing from your description alone, it seems that there is something wrong with the speed feedback (tachometer or "dancer" or ..). It indicates that the drive speed is to high.

Maybe you cant get in contact with the seller of the drive, but Siemens should still be helpfull, give them a ring.

Xion

Parameter 354 is the overspeed setting, you say that it is set to 120% of full motor speed.

Check parameter 317, that is the maximum speed setting, see what that is set at.

Is this the first time that the drive has been run on your motor? Or has this fault just started to occur?

I would check the parameters P100 to P103 and ensure that they match the details on the motor rating plate.

Also if this is the first time the drive has run the motor, did you run the drive through it's 'optimization' run.

Paul

Thanks for your help.

Both P100 and P101 were correct when i checked them. This drive has been running this motor for just under 1 year, this problem has occured rarely in the past, maybe once a month but now it's 3/4 times per hour.

P317 is at 100%, do you think it's worth reducing this?

The drive is in arm feedback mode

Xion said: