Profinet and iMap issues

I'm an S7 newbie, and I'm trying to write some client software that will speak Profinet to a Siemens 317-2 PN/DP. I want to do the simplest thing that will work - I don't really care what's going on in the PLC - I just want to see if I can talk to it successfully.

I have Step 7 and iMap installed, and I have defined a Profinet interface with one function and one data block. I think I have also successfully created a Profinet component from it - at least I didn't get any errors.

It looks like the next step is to import the component into iMap and use it there, but I have a few questions:

1. A lot of the help seems to suggest that iMap is a separate tool, but I don't see it in the programs menu. In Installed Software, I do see SIMATIC iMap - Step7 add-on V3.0. Should it show up in the programs menu? If not, how do I get to these network configuration screens I'm seeing in the help?

2. Will I need to have a program running in the PLC to do the Profinet communication, or can I just access the shared symbol table? I'm a little fuzzy on the relationship between Profinet components and variables in the PLC.

3. Do I need to add copy blocks from the shared library to my project? It looks like that's optional for the 317-2.

Thanks in advance,
Tim

Hi there
IMAP uses CBA

From IMAP help
PROFINET CBA.(Component Based Automation) - for machine-to-machine communication (between PLCs and intelligent field devices.)
PROFINET CBA incorporates the communication between the PLC and intelligent field devices (machine-to-machine communication) at unit level.
In Component Based Automation, a device is a representation of the physical device for which the PROFINET component was created. Such devices include programmable controllers, intelligent field devices and peripheral, hydraulic and pneumatic devices.