RSlinx connect to Micrologix 1000 with DF1

mikecous

Hi, I am new to PLC. Got a Micrologix 1000 with RS232 cable. Installed RSlinx on XP with SP2. Try to connect PC to ML1000 with DF1 protocal. Get time out message when doing auto-config.

Any suggestion?

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the Forum, Mike.

DF1 Full Duplex Autoconfigure usually works very well, so you have something unusual in your setup.

Try the default MicroLogix 1000 DF1 parameters; 19200 baud, 8 data bits, 1 stop bit, no parity, CRC error checking.

If you are using a USB/RS232 converter, there are two common issues:

1. Selecting the COMx port. You absolutely have to use the Windows Device Manager to find out which COM port your USB/RS232 converter has been assigned by the operating system. This varies widely.

2. Some USB/RS232 converters simply won't support Autoconfigure, because it involves rapidly changing the serial framing settings of the port. Some of them simply can't keep up.

The last and least likely possibility is that this MicroLogix 1000 might have been set up to participate in a DH485 network and has the serial port set for DH485 as the Primary Protocol. You might be able to get it to auto-detect DF1 just by using the default parameters and browsing it for a while, or you might have to find a way to connect to it with DH485 protocol. This can be tricky because the old serial converters from the early 90's (called 1747-PIC and 1761-NET-AIC) have a driver that's hard to run in modern Windows.

Post more about your serial port hardware and Windows settings, your DF1 configuration and the heritage of the controller.

Hi, Ken.

I am not using USB/RS232. The ML1000 is directly connected to XP desktop with COM1 on the motherboard. I checked in the device manager to make sure it is COM1.