Wireless Network

naegely

We have approximately 30 machines on the plant floor, each with a CompactLogix 1769-L32E processor. We want to begin collecting some data from these machines via OPC (Kepserver).

Now I know I can (and have) connected to the processor over wireless using a basic D-Link home router connected to the built in ENET port of the PLC, and was hopeful that it might be as simple as putting a router in each machine, but I'm being told that wireless access points can't connect to the PLC through the router.

I have no background in IT or networking, but can anyone tell me the most straightforward way to get the data from these processors wirelessly over to our OPC server on the wired network?

Thanks for any help,

Rob

Why can't you hard wire the cLXs together? Are they far apart? The cost of all the wireless equipment should be taken into account. Even though its for monitoring purposes, I wouldn't use home networking equipment in a factory enviroment. I know Prosoft makes good industrial wireless equipment, but it does get expensive. My $0.02 worth.

Sure, Find someone w/ a background in networking and have them help.

*IF* you have an existing wireless infrastructure(Access points, etc) AND it is setup for process you could use a series of Wireless Bridges. These would plug into the PLC and via wireless communicate back to the APs.

If the above is true, You should also have a network admin, find them and enlist their help to get something setup.
If you just throw 30 home routers on the plant floor, You'll clobber any existing wireless infrastructure.

Thanks guys,

Yeah, the equipment is fairly spread out and is semi-portable, so the decision was made to go wireless.

I'm trying to find a local professional to consult, just thought I would ask here. Our IT support is from a contract company and while they have told me what won't work, they haven't been helpful in offering solutions.