Excel/vba code help

bwiring

I am using rslinx to populate row 2 of a Excel sheet. I have a macro that will copy the real time data from row 2 and insert a new row below and paste the data in the new row. The data is in cells A2-N2. In cell O2 I have a bit value from my PLC (1 or 0). When O2 goes from 0 to 1 the data gets copied and pasted as it should. The problem is when O2 goes from 1 to 0 the data gets copied and posted also. I am not good at VB code at all. If anyone could look at the attached file and make some suggestions or write a proper code it would be a great help.

Here is the current macro:

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Excel.Range)
Dim VRange As Range
Set VRange = Range("o2")
If Not Intersect(Target, VRange) Is Nothing Then
SnapShot
End If
End Sub

Sub SnapShot()

Range("A2:N2").Select
Selection.Copy
Range("A3").Select
Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks _
:=False, Transpose:=False

Range("A3:N3").Select
Selection.Insert Shift:=xlDown, CopyOrigin:=xlFormatFromLeftOrAbove

End Sub

Hi before you run call the snapshot add in

If ActiveCell.Formula = "1" Then

as additional if else call to check the flag is a 1

Thanks but that does not do the trick. It only updates the data to row 2, does not add a row and move the data into the new row.

Try changing

to

Selection.EntireRow.Insert Shift:=xlDown, CopyOrigin:=xlFormatFromLeftOrAbove

Hope this is going to work

I believe the problem lies here....

"Nothing" does mean nothing, 0 or 1 are both "something".
You need to check that it is a 1 before calling Snapshot

HTH

This cures it....

Dim Trigger As Range
Set Trigger = Range("O2")

If Trigger = 1 Then
Trigger = 0
SnapShot
End If

End Sub

Sub SnapShot()

Range("A2:N2").Select
Selection.Copy
Range("A3").Select
Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks _
:=False, Transpose:=False

Range("A3:N3").Select

End Sub