OT: Autocad Help

Tim Ganz

I am trying to do a simple modification to a couple of drawings in autocad and i have never used autocad before.

The ladder drawing is in many different colors and is hard to read on the screen. Why so many colors?

How can i just make white lines on the black background so i can edit these drawing without getting a headache?

I just need to turn the colors off.

It might be easier to change the background to black for viewing. The colors can be "by layer" or "by block" or individual to each object in the drawing. If they're "by layer", changing the color of the layer will change everything assigned to that layer with color properties set "by layer". Depending on how your menus/ribbons are set up, you should be able to find the layers menu and click on the drop-down then double click on the layer color to change it.

What version of Autocad are you using?

Hi
I like my background to be black, i find it less of a glare after a few hours of work

in many cases the original drawing was done in "layers" with a different color assigned to each layer ... if that's the case, then you can probably turn some of the layers OFF temporarily - and eliminate much of the clutter that way ...

another way is to select ALL of the elements in the drawing – and then change their ATTRIBUTES so that the color is "white" ... this is probably only going to be doable IF (big IF) all of the elements are drawn in one layer (or at least in a very few layers) ...

I'd be CAREFUL with this approach though (and make a GOOD backup copy before you try it) ... once you've changed all of those colors to white, you might find out later that you wished you had them all back again ... sometimes those different colors are used to indicate "line widths" etc. while printing ...

in short – you're asking a simple question – but there is no one simple "fit all" answer ...