PLC courses best choice.

Elcan

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi all,
My company wants to send a co-worker to a PLC course. We use Allen Bradley PLCs.
What do you recommend?
I know there are PLC courses given by Allen Bradley. I also heard about Ron Beaufort.
I will appreciate your feedback.

Thank you!

I've taken the course offered by Ron and think it was by far better than any other course I have taken. I am just a tech. so I don't know how it works out for anyone that is an engineer. I have also had classes for Modicon and Siemens so overall Ron's was the best.

What role will your co-worker play ? (engineer ? maintenance ? new system design ?)
What platform(s) are you interested in ? (controllogix, SLC500, softPLC ?)

We bought a raft of Controllogix and budgeted for 3 days of training for all the techs, engineers and a few others.

I hunted through AB's training catalog and could not find any course designed for maintenance of a cllgx that includes ethernet and controlnet (but not devicenet). I ended up specifying a 'custom made' course with parts of other courses (example: we needed the controlnet architecture, but not controlnet programming...). AB saw my plan and said it was ok.

I was 100% impressed by the trainer they sent. He'd seen some field time, so he wasnt a typical desk-jockey. He spoke in a way that kept people interested and involved. They brought 10-slot cllgx racks with lappys and software for us to practice with. Lots of exercises to get time doing it yourself. It wasnt cheap (never is) but I was happy with what we got.

No experience with Ron Beaufort's course, so I cannot comment.

-John

What role will your co-worker play ? (engineer ? maintenance ? new system design ?)
What platform(s) are you interested in ? (controllogix, SLC500, softPLC ?)
-John
His role will be mostly maintenance, but it won't hurt him to learn some design.
We work mostly with Micrologix and CompactLogix.