Lifetime Supporting Member
Hey guys

Hardware:
1769-L32E CPU
1769-PA4 Power Supply
1769-IA16 Input Card
1769-OW16 Output Card
1769-IF4XOF2 Analog Card

I just built a PLC workstation. It's composed of eight toggle switches, and four NC and four NO pushbuttons. It also has 16 LED pilot lights for output simulation. I have a pot for an analog input.

I am not familiar with setting up communications. I have my 1769-L32E controller installation instructions. Here is the PDF link... http://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/in/1769-in020_-en-p.pdf

Go to page 19 on the PDF file. My question is, how do you assign an IP address??? Im sorry for my ignorance but I am not experienced with communication setup.

Is it asking the IP on the controller (which I assume) or the PC's IP address? I just need details on this. I also need to enter the ethernet mask and gateway. I have no idea where to find these addresses.

I hope I have made myself clear and thank you all for your help!

I have found that it is easier to connect to the processor with a serial cable, and then set the ip address, then reconnect via ethernet. Continue reading your pdf file. It tells you how to do it using BootP, and later on by serial.

RTFM

Out of the box, the compactlogix should be making BootP requests in order to obtain its IP address easily from a BootP server. You can download and run the BootP server from ab.com, but first, look to see if you already have it on your start menu, go to "All Programs", "Rockwell Software", and look for "BOOT-P DHCP Server".

If the CPU is not brand new, it may already have an IP address. I believe there are some fairly simple ways to get you PC to find it, but I would have to defer to those more knowledgeable for the easiest of those methods.

If BootP doesn't work, I would connect serially and once connected, you can set up the ethernet channel how you want it, then switch to an ethernet connection for further programming.