Basic Question about Subroutines

Preeya

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to programming subroutines and interrupts. I am used to dumping evrything on the main program. But with the Siemens S7 200 I am currently using now, I wish to use subroutines and interrupts. My question is -

When a subroutine/interrupt is called (on say instruction 1 of the main program) and executed, does it come back to the next instruction on the main program (instruction 2)?

Or Does both the subroutine and the main program run simultaneously?When the subroutine is being executed, what is the status of the main program?

May be this is a very basic question, but please help me understand the sequence. Thanks for your time!

hi preeya,
this is regarding the interrupts & subroutines in s7-200.....
the basic difference in subroutines & interrupts is interrupts as name indicates interrupts the main program scan...executes itself depending on the priority assigned & then returns back to parent coe starting from the next instructions from its occurance as u asked...
whearas subroutines just coexecute.....infact in siemens the microwin takes care of everything....u don't even meed to write the simple RET or END instructions as u do in Allen Bradley & other PLCs...
if u read the help of step 7 microwin u'll find everything u need.....i guess u r using CPU 22x.......i hope this is useful to u

i remain,
Mandar Joshi.

Thanks Mandar. Your reply was really useful.
If I understand the coexecution right, while the sub is being executed, the main program also runs parallely..?

And yes I am using CPU 222.
thanks again.

Last edited:
preeya,