Analog Input rslogix 5000

blown1fuse

I am very new to plc and need help with what element to insert in a rung for analog input I have AB 1769 IF4I/A analog input card. I want to show logic for a RTD analog input 4 to 20. The range and units are 0 to 100 deg C. I will need a alarm block to trigger an output to turn on a strobe light when HI limit is met. I cant find just a simple example anywhere. Any help is appreciated.
Thanks
Blownfuse

the module that you've listed doesn't work directly with RTD devices ... do you have a "transmitter" in the system? ... this would take the RTD signal and turn it into something that the module could accept ... (example: 4 to 20 milliamps) ...

if you have the transmitter, then attach your .ACD program file here to this thread and we'll be glad to tell you how to proceed ... note that you'll have to ZIP the file before you can attach it (forum rule) ...

and welcome to the forum ...

PS Edit ... depending on how you have the hardware arranged - and how the signals are scaled - your rung MIGHT be as simple as the one shown below ...

TEMP_ALARM.JPG

Last edited:
ACD file

OK I dont have much so far. I will add a few elements that I know I have. also I am interfacing to a panelview 1000. I know that this is additional to my original question but the alarm points will be set from panelview. Stand by I will try to attach the file. I do have RTD transmitters converting to 4 to 20 Ma. This should connect directly to the analog input card.

we've got a small problem ... you're working with version 19 of the software - and my copy of 19 is at the office ... I can look at it tonight IF you can do a "File Save As" operation and save it as an .L5K format ... ZIP that .L5K file and attach it and I'll "PROBABLY" be able to open it before bedtime ... or maybe some other forum member will happen by and help you out ... kind of quiet around here tonight - probably because of the holiday tomorrow ...

Last edited:
Analog element