GE vs. AB

zerokewl

Sorry, was not sure where to post this. Hopefully some of
you can give me some advice, thinking about changing jobs!
Have an excellent opportunity to deal with GE plc's, have been doing
AB for 10+ yrs, have not dealt a lot with GE?

I understand protocols and logic very well. Would it be
easy to pick up the GE simplicity and software?

Thank you i know this is a vague question, any advice
would be helpful...

I have not used GE But have been self taught on a huge range of other PLC's
If you understand the I/O Allocation Table the logic is almost identical.
The only issue is the lack of (addition of) common control items.
In a lot of cases you write code to create certain functions.
These are sometimes standard on other PLC's
(Omron Step Next, or Allways On / Off Functions)
When I first started programming AB it took me a short time to find the 'S' registers

I have experience with both GE and AB, GE is a very powerful and reliable platform, but in my opinion their ladder editor is extremely archaic. The ladder editor itself really hasn't changed since the DOS days of Logicmaster, the programming software has been updated, and is useful yet the ladder editor is a POS. Now there is an advantaged to this architecture, you can import VersaPro and Logimaster files in to the current programming software (Cimplicity Machine Edition, or Proficy Machine Edition...they change names too!), which makes upgrading older software to new software easy.

But, you'll miss AB's double-click setup of instructions, you'll miss pre-defined instruction functions (There is no .PRE or .TT of a timer for example), I am not sure if GE is has the ability for user-defined tags yet, and I am unsure if they have any equivalent to an Add-On instruction. But, they do have quad-redundancy if you need that (Rx7i platform). It's been a year since I touched the platform, and that was the 9030 series. The Rx3i/Rx7i are the "ControlLogix" equivalents.