Old software/new pc com problems

Alan22

I'm an electrician in an industrial plant and have always had a laptop available to hook up to plc's. Recently I Ebay'd a SLC 5/03, 1747-PIC & used desktop(stand-alone, no network) for a home project. I installed the old RSLogix/RSLinx (ver2.0)I had and can't establish a link on ethernet or serial (com1). There are several things on the web about RSLinx compatibility with Windows XP SP3. The ver2.53 web release from Rockwell won't install on XP. Can someone tell how to make the old work or point me somewhere to get something that will?

When I install 2.53 a window pops up that reads 'not compatible with windows xp'. There is a selection in the menu for installing SP2, but it gives the message 'a newer version has been detected, install halted'

Last edited:
I had and can't establish a link on ethernet

Your SLC5/03 does not have an Ethernet port, the RJ45 port is DH485. DO NOT plug it into an Ethernet post on your computer you may damage it. The port on the SLC5/03 has 24vdc on it.

10-4 on the DH Mickey, I shouldn't have called it ethernet. There's the 1747-PIC box between the pc serial port and plc DH port. I tried serial to serial also, but no luck.

Still no connection. I took some photos of the error messages when opening RS Linx Lite(it is Lite) and driver configurations, but am not able to attach them here w/ the free membership. I'll email'em to ya dmroeder. What I've read on the other thread is to ignore those, so I did; still couldn't get a driver to connect trying many configues w/ both the 1747-PIC and a direct serial cable. Maybe I should just Ebay a 5/04 and use ethernet or bribe our IT guy to come over after work?

FYI the SLC5/04 does not support Ethernet. (only the SCL5/05 does)