Help with AB 1769-l32

jbarney

Hey folks,

So, I'm very VERY new to working with PLC's, and I've been given the task of learning to set up a scada system. However, I'm having trouble with my PLC, as it isn't wanting to get an IP address. I've tried running the bootp server that comes with rslinx classic, and I'm not showing a request from the mac address of the plc in question. So, no requests from the plc for an address. Is there something I'm missing on trying to get the PLC to take an IP address? I've tried being connected through the scalance x005 switch, as well as connecting directly through ethernet ports from PLC to my desktop. Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Jamie

It's not brand new, but there's no documentation on it here, and it doesn't even seem to be trying to use an IP. So, I'm at a loss at trying to figure out what my next step is.

Pulling the battery and removing power will for awhile will reset the Compactlogix, I think. Don't do this if this is an active PLC running a process or anything, this clears the program. Or you could try connecting over the serial port with DF-1.

If the PLC is in the same IP subnet as you the Ethernet/IP driver in RSLinx may find it automagically for you.

hrm...well, I definitely can't clear the program, as the controller IS in an active process. And I've tried getting into RSLinx Classic, and because I'm running win 7, it doesn't want to start.

Alright, take a little step back.

RSLinx Classic version 2.57 is the only version that is supported for use with Windows 7. If you don't have it, download it from RA's webserver. The "lite" version is free of charge and is all you need for basic RSLogix 5000 work.

Get a serial cable, either the 1756-CP3 that Rockwell sells, or any ordinary cable with a null-modem adapter. You will be able (very likely) to configure a serial driver and "browse through" the CompactLogix controller to monitor and configure the Ethernet configuration.